The bombs race through the walls with an unforgivable blast

English: A B-2 Spirit dropping Mk.82 bombs int...

Image via Wikipedia

The bombs race through the walls with an unforgivable blast,
Skin ripped violently and bones dance through the massive confusion,
I see the twisted body of the young boy sharing the rubble with his armless sister,
These bombs scream through the sky leading to loved ones mourning the mangled and dead,
Where is world peace or the serenity of human dignity,
Has it abandoned my small country or been traded for black gold,
Please see us as human, alive and believers of prosperity with little hope left,
To bury one more child drains me of my own blood,
I fear that it too will spill into emptiness,
I am tired of the red blare racing through the black sky,
Tired of rockets, bullets and a political gifts of democracy,
Please let my people go,
Let my children finger paint, jump rope and grow to write poetry not of bombs but blue skies….

Solmaz Hafezi

Leave a Reply

